Rich pauper

The Kingdom of the heavens
Is now advancing
Invade my heart
Invade this broken town

And the kingdom of the heavens
Is buried treasure
Would you sell yourself
To buy the one you’ve found?
Jon Foreman – Your Love Is Strong – listen to it now.

This is a beautiful song based on Jesus’ prayer, his words on not fretting about our earthly needs but rather trusting the Father, and on giving our all for the Kingdom. (See refs here and here).

I live on a large farm (about 120 acres, above), owned by the Jesus Army’s New Creation Christian Community I’m part of. Last summer, walking through the grounds towards the large Victorian farmhouse, between a field of poplar saplings on one side and a dense apple orchard on the other, on my way to meet some good friends (I think of my friends as brothers or sisters) I realised again what immense richness we’ve found together from losing everything for Jesus.

I’ve grown up knowing the words of Jesus, things like “seek first the Kingdom, and everything will be added to you”, and “don’t worry about what you’re going to wear or eat”, but in that moment, I relaised that I could never have studied and worked hard enough to buy for myself the incredible richness of relationships, and all the lands, houses, businesses, and more, that we corporately own as a Community Church. It’s only come about because I and others with me have given up our lives for Jesus, seeking to live in relative simplicity to the world around us, and he’s proven doubly faithful in his promise to look after us.

And the bit about not worrying what you’re going to wear? I needed some new jeans a few months ago, so I prayed for some and thought nothing more of it. On a whim one evening I asked a friend if he had any spare jeans, and he said he was trying to give away a pair, which were exactly my size! Thanks Jesus.

Legally, I own nothing myself (well, maybe my toothbrush), yet I feel like the richest man on the planet!

Final words from Jesus:

And Peter said, “See, we have left our homes and followed you.” And he said to them, “Truly, I say to you, there is no one who has left house or wife or brothers or parents or children, for the sake of the kingdom of God, who will not receive many times more in this time, and in the age to come eternal life.
(Luke 18 – ESV)

What do you think?

